SMSF Online Updates
 Fri 11 Feb 2022
 Fri 4 Mar 2022
 Fri 8 Apr 2022
 Fri 6 May 2022
 Fri 3 Jun 2022
 Fri 8 Jul 2022
 Fri 5 Aug 2022
 Fri 9 Sep 2022
 Fri 7 Oct 2022
 Fri 11 Nov 2022
 
 Best practice for advisers with BDBNs
 
 SMSF Succession Planning Webinar
 




SMSF Online Updates - 8th Oct 2021 - single session

SMSF Online Updates - 8th Oct 2021 - single session

All delegates must be registered to be able to see training and to be eligible to receive CPD hours and not to breach copyright law.


Recording

  • Expiry Date: 8 October 2022
  • Duration: 90 minutes

TOPICS  

Best practice for advisers with BDBNs (~90 minutes):

  • Overview and key cases
  • The importance of the SMSF deed document trail
  • Preparing a BDBN to:
    • Pay a benefit to spouse and, if no spouse, then to children
    • Pay a benefit to spouse and, if no spouse, then to estate (LPR)
    • Make a payment conditional (eg, there still being a spousal relationship)
    • How to make a pension reversionary via a BDBN
  • Can an attorney make or change a BDBN — what does the latest case law say?
  • Can a BDBN specify the type of benefit that can be paid (rather than just who to pay)?
  • What if the recipient doesn’t want the benefit under a BDBN? Can they disclaim?
  • Best practice in execution and storage of BDBNs including electronic execution
  • Minimising conflicts via a BDBN (eg, the surviving spouse is both an executor and trustee/director)
  • Other options to BDBNs, eg, SMSF wills and death benefit rules
  • And much more …

Presenter – William Fettes  

Fee: $150 incl GST group discounts available
CPD Hours: 1.5
Designed for: Advisers seeking to stay abreast of SMSF news.




Presenter

William Fettes
Senior Associate
DBA Lawyers

Cahoot Learning Privacy Policy